Frustrations of Ankle Pain

Posted: November 19, 2010 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Coming back from ankle surgery sucks. That’s all there is to it. To know that about a year ago I was running 10 miles with no problem is completely frustrating… but that’s life, right? My surgeon joked with me and told me that by the time I got the screws, new ligaments and patched tendon in there, I would be winning races. Such a good guy.

Last night we ran about 1.5 miles and by ran, I mean jogged. It hurt. My muscles are so stiff and weak from not using them for so long. I still can’t wear any type of wedge or heal for longer than about an hour. I still have to take my arthritis meds every night and sometimes it hurts so bad that I still can’t sleep despite the powerful “sleepiness” embedded in my anti-inflammatory pills. Sometimes, I want to quit.

Always when I think I’m going to quit and I’m ready to throw in the towel, I take a deep breathe and a step back and say to myself, no. I have come so far. Who would have thought that three years ago I could go from not running AT ALL to running a half marathon in a matter of 4 months? Not me. ever. But you know what? I did it! I ran it and I got a great time and I never felt better.

So today, despite being frustrated with my body and the backwards steps it seems to have sprinted over the past year through surgery and recovery, I know I can do it. I will prove to myself that anything is possible with a little determination. So..

I signed up for a 5K on December 12th. I will run all of it and I will run it with jingle bells tied to my shoes and my best holiday costume and I will do it to raise money for Arthritis. No matter how hard it gets, I know that so many people have it worse, including my boyfriend’s soon to be sister-in-law. She was diagnosed with Rheumatoid Arthritis in her mid-20s. She is an inspiration to me, I love her and I’m going to do this for me, for her and for everyone else who ever wanted to finish a race.

This is me before my Marathon in November 2008

Comments
  1. […] that arthritis and ankle surgery. I ran with my Garmin Forerunner 305 (including the HRM chest strap). I like the forerunner because […]

  2. […] There it is! The first 5K Since December of 2010… and the 2nd race post-ankle surgery. Words cannot begin to explain how amazing it feels to FINALLY feel great running again. My ankle […]

Leave a comment